JavaScript Disabled. For a better experience on this website please enable JavaScript in your browser.

Faculty and Staff

Senior Administration

Deborah David

Head of School

  213-382-2315 ext. 222
  ddavid@sjsla.org

B.A., English — Niagara Univ. (Lewiston, N.Y.)
M.A.T., English — Niagara Univ. (Lewiston, N.Y.)
Administrative Credential — Southern Conn. State Univ. (New Haven)

Senior Administrator Biographies


Elizabeth Desmarais

Assistant Head of School

  213-382-2315 ext. 276
  edesmarais@sjsla.org

B.A., Elementary Education with English concentration — Rhode Island College (Providence)
M.S., Administration — Pepperdine Univ. (Malibu, Calif.)
Clear California Teaching Credential

Senior Administrator Biographies


Chris Cook

Director of Advancement

  213-233-0133 ext. 309
  ccook@sjsla.org

B.A., Theater — Univ. of Calif., Los Angeles

Senior Administrator Biographies


Patricia A. Joseph Thomas, Ph.D.

Preschool Director

  213-738-7871
  pthomas@sjsla.org

B.A., Human Development — Pacific Oaks College (Pasadena, Calif.)
M.S., Community Counseling and Family Studies — Springfield College (Mass.)
Ph.D., Child and Family Studies — Branston Univ. (Shreveport, La.)

Senior Administrator Biographies


The Rev. Canon Aidan Koh

Chaplain

  213-382-2315 ext. 250
  akoh@sjsla.org

B.A., Theology — Hankook Theological College
M.Div. — Hanshin Theological Seminary

Senior Administrator Biographies


Sarah Lougheed-Gill

Director of Admission

  213-382-2315 ext. 223
  sgill@sjsla.org

B.A., Theater — San Jose State Univ. (Calif.)
M.A., Theater (ABD) — San Jose State Univ. (Calif.)
International Advancement Professional Certification — Independent School Management

Senior Administrator Biographies


Najah Lowe

Director of Finance and Operations

  213-233-0133 ext. 303
  nlowe@sjsla.org

B.A., English Literature with Journalism minor — Calif. State Univ., Dominguez Hills
M.B.A., Human Resource Management focus — Univ. of Phoenix (Reston, Va. campus)

Senior Administrator Biographies


Faculty & Staff

Erica Alvarado

Preschool Teacher – Dinosaurs

  213-738-0919 ext. 3
  ealvarado@sjsla.org

B.A., Child Development — Mount St. Mary’s Univ. 
Child Development Program Supervisor & Master Teacher Permit — California Commission on Teacher Credentialing


Ana Araya

Preschool Security Guard

  213-738-7871
  aaraya@sjsla.org

   


Tarah Arnold

Admission Office Coordinator/Registrar

  213-382-2315 ext. 255
  tarnold@sjsla.org

B.A., English Education — California Baptist University (Riverside, CA) 


Kelly Basham

School Nurse

  213-382-2315 ext. 229
  kbasham@sjsla.org

B.A., Elementary Education — University of Wisconsin –Madison
Licensed Vocational Nurse — Casa Loma College


James Casey

Music Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 256
  jcasey@sjsla.org

B.M., Organ & Church Music — Drake University
M.M., Organ — Yale University Institute of Sacred Music 
Kodály Certificate — Texas State University 


Luisa Cartagena

Band Director

  213-233-0133 ext. 302
  lcartagena@sjsla.org

B.M., Professional Music - Berklee College of Music

M.M., Music Education - University of Massachusetts - Amherst


Siena Castañares

Student Database and Technology Coordinator

  213-233-0133 ext. 302
  scastanares@sjsla.org

B.A., Psychology and Musical Studies — Oberlin College (Ohio)
Master of Music Teaching — Oberlin Conservatory of Music (Ohio)
Google-Certified Educator


Jennifer Cefaly

Academic Technology Specialist 
& After-School Enrichment Coordinator

  213-382-2315 ext. 272
  jcefaly@sjsla.org

B.A., Art History — James Madison Univ. (Harrisonburg, Va.)
M.A., Language Arts & Literacy Education — Loyola Marymount Univ. 
Google-Certified Educator


Kelli Chau

Third Grade Classroom Assistant
 

  213-382-2315 ext. 234
  kchau@sjsla.org

B.A., Early Childhood Education — Pacific Oaks College 
Google-Certified Educator


Jonathan Dar

Second Grade Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 247
  jdar@sjsla.org

B.A., History — UCLA
M.A., History — UCLA
M.A., Education and Educational Administration — CSUN
California Multiple Subject Teaching Credential (K–6)
California Foundational Mathematics Teaching Credential (K–10)
California School Administration Credential (Tier 1)


Michelle Deiotte

Preschool Teacher – Dolphins

  213-738-0919 ext. 2
  mdeiotte@sjsla.org

Child Development — Pasadena City College


Nick DiPasquale

Physical Education & Health Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 251
  ndipasquale@sjsla.org

B.A., Political Science — University of Southern California 


Brian Duggan

Fourth Grade Teacher 
& Teacher Leader for Facilities Use and Logistics

  213-382-2315 ext. 248
  bduggan@sjsla.org

B.A., History — Georgetown Univ. (Washington, D.C.)


Nashelli Flores

Spanish Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 224
  nflores@sjsla.org

B.A., Spanish & Chicano and Latino Studies - California State University - Long Beach

M.A., Spanish Language and Culture - Universidad de Salamanca (Salamanca, Spain)


Josh Friedman

Visual Art Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 239
  jfriedman@sjsla.org

B.A., Studio Art — Goucher College (Baltimore, Md.)
M.F.A., Ceramics/Mixed Media — Cranbrook Academy of Art (Bloomfield Hills, Mich.)
Certificate — La Sorbonne (Paris, France)


Chenelle Geoffroy-Lindsey

Physical Education & Health Teacher, Diversity Coordinator

  213-382-2315 ext. 257
  cgeoffroy@sjsla.org

B.S., Exercise Science & Nutrition – Queens College (Flushing, N.Y.)
M.S., Exercise Physiology – Brooklyn College (Brooklyn, N.Y.)


Keondria Gibson

First Grade Co-Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 236
  kgibson@sjsla.org

B.S., Interdisciplinary Studies K-5, Minor in Early Childhood Education - Sam Houston State University (Houston, TX)


Emmy Gilliam

Sixth Grade Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 242
  egilliam@sjsla.org

B.A., English — University of Southern California (Los Angeles)
M.Ed., Education — UCLA


Nicéfero Guzman

Facilities Assistant

  213-382-2315 ext. 275
  nguzman@sjsla.org


Nicole Hamilton

Second Grade Classroom Assistant

  213-382-2315 ext. 236
  nhamilton@sjsla.org

B.A., Ethics, History, and Public Policy — Carnegie Mellon Univ. (Pittsburgh, Pa.)


Alenoosh Hartouni

Preschool Classroom Assistant – Dolphins

  213-738-0919 ext. 2
  ahartouni@sjsla.org

A.S. Child Development, Glendale Community College


Ed Hermeno

Mathematics Specialist

  213-382-2315 ext. 244/248
  ehermeno@sjsla.org

B.S., Environmental Engineering with English Literature minor – Mass. Institute of Technology (Cambridge)
M.S., Environmental Engineering – UC - Berkeley
M.A., Education – Loyola Marymount Univ.
California Single Subject Teaching Credential, Mathematics – Loyola Marymount Univ.


Marquis Hogains

Play Facilitator

  213-382-2315 
  mhogains@sjsla.org

B.A., Creative Writing, UC - Riverside


Maritza Jimenez

Assistant Director of Finance & Operations

  213-233-0133 ext. 304
  mjimenez@sjsla.org

B.A., Latin American Studies —UCLA


Juliet Jun

Science Assistant & Playground Assistant

  213-382-2315 ext. 230
  jjun@sjsla.org


Paru Kammula

First Grade Co-Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 236
  pkammula@sjsla.org

B.A., English — Madras Univ. (Chennai, India)
M.A., Psychology and Human Development — College for Developmental Studies 
California Clear Multiple Subject Teaching Credential


Robert Krueger

Fifth Grade Teacher
& Service Learning Program Coordinator

  213-382-2315 ext. 244
  rkrueger@sjsla.org

B.S., Elementary Education — Abilene Christian University (Abilene, Texas)


Alice Kuramoto

Third Grade Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 245
  akuramoto@sjsla.org

B.A., Home Economics — Cal State L.A.


Lindsey Kuramoto

First Grade Classroom Assistant

  213-382-2315 ext. 229/230
  lkuramoto@sjsla.org

B.A., English — Cal Lutheran Univ.


Nari Kye

Assistant Director of Advancement

  213-233-0133 ext. 306
  nkye@sjsla.org

B.A., Art History — UC - Irvine


Alexa Laffen

Second Grade Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 234
  alaffen@sjsla.org

B.A., Global Studies with Italian minor — UC - Santa Barbara
M.Ed. – UC - Santa Barbara
California Multiple Subject Teaching Credential — UC - Santa Barbara


Kerry Leikin

Preschool Teacher – Dinosaurs

  213-738-0919 ext. 3
  kleikin@sjsla.org

B.S., Early Childhood Education — Ohio University
Generalist Endorsement in 4th and 5th Grade
Ohio Early Childhood Teaching License for PK–3rd Grade


Mei-Ling Leonard

First Grade Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 237
  mleonard@sjsla.org

B.A., Theater with Education minor — Swarthmore College (Swarthmore, Penn.)
M.F.A., Theater Management — Wayne State Univ. (Detroit, Mich.)


Dawn Lett

Third Grade Classroom Assistant

  213-382-2315 ext. 245
  dlett@sjsla.org


Eura Lim

Kindergarten Co-Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 231
  elim@sjsla.org

B.A., Liberal Studies — CSUN
California Multiple Subject Teaching Credential — CSUN


Ricardo Lopez

Facilities Manager

  213-382-2315 ext. 275
  rlopez@sjsla.org


Rosi Lopez

Sixth Grade Classroom Assistant
& Play Facilitator

  213-382-2315 ext. 240/242
  rolopez@sjsla.org


Agnieszka Marchel

Preschool Teacher – Butterflies

  213-738-0919 ext. 1
  amarchel@sjsla.org

B.A., Family Community Services: Early Childhood Education — Michigan State University (East Lansing)


Neilah Meyers

Kindergarten Classroom Assistant

  213-382-2315 ext. 232
  nmeyers@sjsla.org

B.A., Literary Criticism — Gallatin School of Individualized Study, New York Univ.


Christina Olague

Library Media Center Specialist

  213-382-2315 ext. 274
  colague@sjsla.org

B.A., English Single Subject Teaching Option – Cal State - LA
M.L.I.S. – UCLA


Karen Oquendo

Learning Specialist

  213-382-2315 ext. 280
  koquendo@sjsla.org

B.A., Psychology — St. Francis College (Brooklyn, N.Y.)
M.S., Education — Brooklyn College (Brooklyn, N.Y.)


Sujatha Periasamy

Accounting Manager

  213-233-0133 ext. 301
  speriasamy@sjsla.org

M.Com., Accounting — Madras Univ. (Chennai, India)


Lauren Reynoso

Second Grade Classroom Assistant

  213-233-0133 
  lreynoso@sjsla.org

B.A., Art & Technology — Cal State San Marcos


Jenny Richardson

Kindergarten Co-Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 231
  jrichardson@sjsla.org

B.A. — Bucknell Univ. (Lewisburg, Pa.)
M.A., Education — Cal State - Fresno
California Multiple Subject Teaching Credential


Lourdes Rodriguez

Procurement Manager

  213-233-0133 ext. 311
  lrodriguez@sjsla.org


Hillary Rodgers

Sixth Grade Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 240
  hrodgers@sjsla.org

B.S., Elementary Education - Iowa State University (Ames, IA)
Minnesota Teaching License, Elementary Education K-6
M.A., Educational Leadership - Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota (Minneapolis, MN)

Rocheleen Rosel

Preschool Teacher – Tigers

  213-738-0919 ext. 4
  rrosel@sjsla.org

A.A., Child Development — Los Angeles Valley Community College 
B.A., Child and Adolescent Development — CSUN
M.A., Human Development with specialization in Leadership in Education and Social Service — Pacific Oaks College 


Theppong Sae-Low

Third Grade Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 246
  tsaelow@sjsla.org

B.A., History with Teacher Education Program minor — UCSD
California Single Subject Teaching Credential, Social Science — Cal State LA


Jacqueline Taylor

Fourth Grade Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 235
  jtaylor@sjsla.org

B.A., History — Univ. of Utah 
M.Ed., Elementary Education — Univ. of Utah 


Linda Tellez

Preschool Classroom Assistant - Dinosaurs

  213-738-0919 ext. 3
  ltellez@sjsla.org

A.A., Early Childhood Development — East Los Angeles College


Yesi Urrea

Library Media Center Assistant - Fourth Grade Classroom Assistant

  213-382-2315 ext. 274
  yurrea@sjsla.org

B.A., History with Classical Studies minor — Cal State - Long Beach


Nancy Vermette

Kindergarten Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 232
  nvermette@sjsla.org

B.A., Sociology — Cal State LA


Lynese Williams

Preschool Teacher – Tigers

  213-738-0919 ext. 4
  lwilliams@sjsla.org

A.A., Early Childhood Development — El Camino College 


Chitra Wiltshire

Preschool Teacher – Dolphins

  213-738-0919 ext. 2
  cwiltshire@sjsla.org

B.A., Psychology with minor in Child Development and Family Studies — Cal State - Long Beach


Andrew Wright

Communications Manager 

  213-382-2315 ext. 305
  awright@sjsla.org

B.F.A., Theatre - University of Southern California 


Autumn Yamamoto

Assistant to the Head of School

  213-382-2315 ext. 278
  ayamamoto@sjsla.org

B.A., Psychology - San Francisco State University
M.S.W, Social Work - Widener University
M.Ed., Human Sexuality Education - Widener University


Richard Yi

Fifth Grade Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 243
  ryi@sjsla.org

B.A., Economics with Computer Science minor — Boston Univ.
California Multiple Subject Teaching Credential
Google-Certified Educator


Byron Zapata

Community Security Manager

  213-382-2315 ext. 229
  bzapata@sjsla.org

A.A., Education – Univ. of Phoenix


Chris Zapata

Fifth Grade Classroom Assistant
& Play Facilitator

  213-382-2315 ext. 243/244
  czapata@sjsla.org