JavaScript Disabled. For a better experience on this website please enable JavaScript in your browser.

Faculty and Staff

Senior Administration

Peter Reinke

Head of School

  213-382-2315 ext. 222
  PReinke@SJSLA.org

B.A., History — Brown University (Providence, RI)
M.A., Education Leadership — Columbia University (New York, NY)

Senior Administrator Biographies


Elizabeth Desmarais

Assistant Head of School

  213-382-2315 ext. 276
  edesmarais@sjsla.org

B.A., Elementary Education with English concentration — Rhode Island College (Providence)
M.S., Administration — Pepperdine University
Clear California Teaching Credential

Senior Administrator Biographies


Brooke Gadasi, CFRE

Director of Advancement

  213-382-2315 ext. 309
  bgadasi@sjsla.org

B.A., Psychology, Sociology, Thomas Hunter Honors — Hunter College

Senior Administrator Biographies


Joan Hester

Director of Admission

  213-382-2315 ext. 223
  jhester@sjsla.org

B.M., Music — Catholic Univ. of America (Washington, D.C.)
M.A., Curriculum & Teaching — Columbia Univ. Teachers College (New York, N.Y.)

Senior Administrator Biographies


Pat Joseph Thomas, Ph.D.

Director of Preschool & Civic Engagement

  213-382-2315 ext. 284
  pthomas@sjsla.org

B.A., Human Development — Pacific Oaks College
M.S., Community Counseling and Family Studies — Springfield College 
Ph.D., Child and Family Studies — Branston University 

Senior Administrator Biographies


The Rev. Canon Aidan Koh

Chaplain

  213-382-2315 ext. 250
  akoh@sjsla.org

B.A., Theology — Hankook Theological College
M.Div. — Hanshin Theological Seminary

Senior Administrator Biographies


Amy Schlecter

Chief Financial Officer

  213-382-2315 ext. 303
  aschlecter@sjsla.org

B.A., Political Science, Chinese Literature & Language — University of California - Berkeley
M.B.A., Business — University of Michigan, Ross School of Business

Senior Administrator Biographies


Faculty & Staff

Al Alvarado 

School Custodian 

  213-382-2315 ext. 275
  aalvarado@sjsla.org

  


Erika Alvarado

Preschool Teacher – KR4 (Tigers)

  213-382-2315 ext. 114
  ealvarado@sjsla.org

B.A., Child Development — Mount St. Mary’s Univ. 
Child Development Program Supervisor & Master Teacher Permit — California Commission on Teacher Credentialing


Julie Amaya

Preschool Teacher - Dolphins

  213-382-2315 ext. 112
  jamaya@sjsla.org

B.A., Studio Arts – California State University, Los Angeles
Child Development Teacher Permit - Commission on Teacher Credentialing      
Certificate of Achievement in Preschool Associate Teacher - L.A. Trade Technical Community College


Ana Araya

Courtesy Guard

  213-382-2315 ext. 300
  aaraya@sjsla.org

   


Kim Baudoin

Preschool Assistant Classroom Teacher - Butterflies

  213-382-2315 ext. 111
  kbaudoin@sjsla.org


Alicia Cardoza, RN

Nurse

  213-382-2315 ext. 229
  acardoza@sjsla.org

A.A, Nursing - Kaplan College


Luisa Cartagena

Wind Ensemble Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 256
  lcartagena@sjsla.org

B.M., Professional Music - Berklee College of Music
M.M., Music Education - University of Massachusetts - Amherst


James Casey

Teacher & Music Department Chair

  213-382-2315 ext. 256
  jcasey@sjsla.org

B.M., Organ & Church Music — Drake University
M.M., Organ — Yale University Institute of Sacred Music 
Kodály Certificate — Texas State University 


Kelli Chau

Kindergarten Co-Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 231
  kchau@sjsla.org

B.A., Early Childhood Education — Pacific Oaks College 
M.A., Education - Pacific Oaks College                                                                Google-Certified Educator


May Chung

Fourth Grade Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 235
  mchung@sjsla.org

B.A., History, Diversified Liberal Arts Certification - UCLA
M.A., Education - UCLA
CA Multiple Subjects Teaching Credential


Erica Clare 

Preschool Teacher - Butterflies 

  213-382-2315 ext. 111
  eclare@sjsla.org

B.A., Theater Arts - City University of New York 
M.S., Primary Education - Cal State Los Angeles 
Certificate - Site Supervisor Permit 


Jonathan Dar

Sixth Grade Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 240
  jdar@sjsla.org

B.A., History — UCLA
M.A., History — UCLA
M.A., Education and Educational Administration — CSUN
California Multiple Subject Teaching Credential (K–6)
California Foundational Mathematics Teaching Credential (K–10)
California School Administration Credential (Tier 1)


Jamie Dean Carley 

Communications Manager

  213-382-2315 ext. 305
  jdean@sjsla.org

B.A., History - Louisiana State University 


Michelle Deiotte

Preschool Teacher – Butterflies

  213-382-2315 ext. 111
  mdeiotte@sjsla.org

Child Development — Pasadena City College


Melissa De Guzman

Executive Assistant to Head of School

  213-382-2315 ext. 285
  mdeguzman@sjsla.org

A.S., Healthcare Administration — West Coast University
B.A., Healthcare Administration — West Coast University 
M.A., Healthcare Administration — West Coast University 


Karen De Vore

Preschool Assistant Classroom Teacher - Dolphins

  213-382-2315 ext. 112
  kdevore@sjsla.org

A.A., Early Childhood Education - Santa Monica College
B.A., Human Development - Pacific Oaks College
Master Teacher Credential - Santa Monica College 


Catherine Diaz

Spanish Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 224
  cdiaz@sjsla.org

B.A., Spanish - UCLA
M.A., Administrative Leadership - Cal State Los Angeles 
National Board Credentialed Teacher
Bilingual Certificate (USC)

Nick DiPasquale

Physical Education & Health Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 251
  ndipasquale@sjsla.org

B.A., Political Science — University of Southern California 


Brian Duggan

Fourth Grade Teacher 

  213-382-2315 ext. 248
  bduggan@sjsla.org

B.A., History — Georgetown Univ. (Washington, D.C.)


Neilah Fleisher

Kindergarten Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 232
  nfleisher@sjsla.org

B.A., Literary Criticism — Gallatin School of Individualized Study, New York Univ.


Sean Fleming

Playground Teacher & Science Assistant

  213-382-2315 ext. 230
  sfleming@sjsla.org

A.A., English/Creative Writing – American River College (Folsom Lake)
B.A., English – California State University - Sacramento


Josh Friedman

Art Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 239
  jfriedman@sjsla.org

B.A., Studio Art — Goucher College (Baltimore, Md.)
M.F.A., Ceramics/Mixed Media — Cranbrook Academy of Art (Bloomfield Hills, Mich.)
Certificate — La Sorbonne (Paris, France)


Chenelle Geoffroy-Lindsey

Physical Education & Health Teacher, Diversity Coordinator

  213-382-2315 ext. 257
  cgeoffroy@sjsla.org

B.S., Exercise Science & Nutrition – Queens College (Flushing, N.Y.)
M.S., Exercise Physiology – Brooklyn College (Brooklyn, N.Y.)


Emmy Gilliam

Associate Director of Admission for Middle School Matriculation

  213-382-2315 ext. 556
  egilliam@sjsla.org

B.A., English — University of Southern California 
M.Ed., Education — UCLA


Rosi Gonzalez

First Grade Classroom Assistant

  213-382-2315 ext. 236
  rgonzalez@sjsla.org


Stephanie Guerra

Playground Teacher & Art Assistant 

  213-382-2315 ext. 239
  sguerra@sjsla.org

B.A., Art - University of Southern California 


Nicéfero Guzman

Facilities Assistant

  213-382-2315 ext. 275
  nguzman@sjsla.org


Nicole Hamilton

Second Grade Classroom Assistant

  213-382-2315 ext. 234
  nhamilton@sjsla.org

B.A., Ethics, History, and Public Policy — Carnegie Mellon Univ. (Pittsburgh, Pa.)


Alenoosh Hartouni

Preschool Teacher – Dinosaurs 

  213-382-2315 ext. 113
  ahartouni@sjsla.org

A.S. Child Development, Glendale Community College


Ed Hermeno

Six Grade Teacher/Mathematics Specialist

  213-382-2315 ext. 242
  ehermeno@sjsla.org

B.S., Environmental Engineering with English Literature minor – Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Cambridge)
M.S., Environmental Engineering – UC - Berkeley
M.A., Education – Loyola Marymount 
California Single Subject Teaching Credential, Mathematics – Loyola Marymount 


Maritza Jimenez

Human Resources Manager

  213-382-2315 ext. 304
  mjimenez@sjsla.org

B.A., Latin American Studies —UCLA


Paru Kammula

First Grade Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 236
  pkammula@sjsla.org

B.A., English — Madras Univ. (Chennai, India)
M.A., Psychology and Human Development — College for Developmental Studies 
California Clear Multiple Subject Teaching Credential


Christine Kasem

Receptionist and Assistant to AHOS

  213-382-2315 ext. 249
  ckasem@sjsla.org

B.S., Human Services – University of Phoenix


Robert Krueger

Fifth Grade Teacher
& Service Learning Program Coordinator

  213-382-2315 ext. 244
  rkrueger@sjsla.org

B.S., Elementary Education — Abilene Christian University (Abilene, Texas)


Alice Kuramoto

Third Grade Co-Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 245
  akuramoto@sjsla.org

B.A., Home Economics — Cal State L.A.


Lindsey Kuramoto

First Grade Classroom Assistant

  213-382-2315 ext. 237
  lkuramoto@sjsla.org

B.A., English — Cal Lutheran University


Alexa Laffen

Second Grade Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 234
  alaffen@sjsla.org

B.A., Global Studies with Italian minor — UC - Santa Barbara
M.Ed. – UC - Santa Barbara
California Multiple Subject Teaching Credential — UC - Santa Barbara


Mei-Ling Leonard

First Grade Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 237
  mleonard@sjsla.org

B.A., Theater with Education minor — Swarthmore College (Swarthmore, Penn.)
M.F.A., Theater Management — Wayne State Univ. (Detroit, Mich.)


Eura Lim

Second Grade Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 247
  elim@sjsla.org

B.A., Liberal Studies — CSUN
California Multiple Subject Teaching Credential — CSUN


Ricardo Lopez

Facilities Manager

  213-382-2315 ext. 275
  rlopez@sjsla.org


Ashlee Morales

Third Grade Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 246
  amorales@sjsla.org

B.A., Liberal Studies - California State University Northridge
California Multiple Subject Teaching Credential - California State University Northridge


Nati Nava de Lopez

School Custodian 

  213-382-2315 ext. 275
  nnava@sjsla.org

 

Christina Olague

Librarian, Informational Technology and Media Specialist

  213-382-2315 ext. 274
  colague@sjsla.org

B.A., English Single Subject Teaching Option – Cal State - LA
M.L.I.S. – UCLA


Karen Oquendo

Learning Specialist

  213-382-2315 ext. 280
  koquendo@sjsla.org

B.A., Psychology — St. Francis College (Brooklyn, N.Y.)
M.S., Education — Brooklyn College (Brooklyn, N.Y.)


Erik Orozco

Facilities Assistant

  213-382-2315 ext. 275
  eorozco@sjsla.org

 


Eileen Payoyo

Kindergarten Co-Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 231
  epayoyo@sjsla.org

B.A., English - University of California Irvine
M.A., Education - National University 
Multiple Subjects Teaching Credential 

Sujatha Periasamy

Accounting Manager

  213-382-2315 ext. 301
  speriasamy@sjsla.org

M.Com., Accounting — Madras Univ. (Chennai, India)


Lauren Reynoso

Second Grade Classroom Assistant

  213-382-2315 ext. 247
  lreynoso@sjsla.org

B.A., Art & Technology — Cal State San Marcos


Dionne Riddle

Admissions Associate/Registrar 

  213-382-2315 ext. 255
  driddle@sjsla.org

Studied at Pacific Oaks College

Lourdes Rodriguez

Procurement Manager

  213-382-2315 ext. 311
  lrodriguez@sjsla.org


Rocheleen Rosel

Preschool Teacher – Dinosaurs

  213-382-2315 ext. 113
  rrosel@sjsla.org

A.A., Child Development — Los Angeles Valley Community College 
B.A., Child and Adolescent Development — CSUN
M.A., Human Development with specialization in Leadership in Education and Social Service — Pacific Oaks College 


Theppong Sae-Low

Third Grade Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 246
  tsaelow@sjsla.org

B.A., History with Teacher Education Program minor — UCSD
California Single Subject Teaching Credential, Social Science — Cal State LA


Ashley Samuels

Sixth Grade Teacher/ Assistant Community Service Director

  213-382-2315 ext. 242
  asamuels@sjsla.org

B.S., Elementary Education West Chester University of Pennsylvania


Dr. Bryan Sanders

Academic Technology Specialist 

  213-382-2315 ext. 272
  bsanders@sjsla.org

B.A., Literature - UC Santa Cruz 
M.A., Education - Loyola Marymount University 
Education Leadership for Social Justice - Loyola Marymount University 
CA State Teaching Credential 
National Board Certified Teacher

Ayanna Scott

Science Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 230
  ascott@sjsla.org

Masters of Arts in Teaching, Language Arts and Science - Otterbein University 

Yesi Urrea

Preschool Teacher – KR4 (Tigers)

  213-382-2315 ext. 114
  yurrea@sjsla.org

B.A., History with Classical Studies minor — Cal State - Long Beach


Linda Tellez

Preschool Teacher - Dolphins

  213-382-2315 ext. 112
  ltellez@sjsla.org

A.A., Early Childhood Development — East Los Angeles College


Nancy Vermette

Kindergarten Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 232
  nvermette@sjsla.org

B.A., Sociology — Cal State LA


Richard Yi

Fifth Grade Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 243
  ryi@sjsla.org

B.A., Economics with Computer Science minor — Boston University
California Multiple Subject Teaching Credential
Google-Certified Educator


Byron Zapata

Director of Security & Plant Operations

  213-382-2315 ext. 281
  bzapata@sjsla.org

A.A., Education – University of Phoenix


Chris Zapata

Lead Playground Teacher

  213-382-2315 ext. 313
  czapata@sjsla.org